Bunderspitz hike in new Hiking Boots!

I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to review some hiking boots from Hi-Tec. I went for a classic brown leather pair with high ankle support from http://www.hi-tec.com/uk/. I wore them in for a few days on quick trips to the shops and around the house to ensure they were comfortable for the hike – I do this with all hiking footwear particularly if planning on doing a long hike! They are leather so very comfortable and were easily moulded to my feet as they wore in. I have difficult feet to fit to as they are thin and long (Size 8!) but these with good hiking socks fitted snuggly and comfortably.

Then we were off on the hike! We joined the local Guide Chalet with about 20 of us in total to do the overnight hike up the local mountain of Bunderspitz. Bunderspitz is 2546 metres above sea level and is a mixture of grassy slopes and rocky terrain. We began the hike Friday evening at 7:30pm with a gentle hike up to the Alpine Cheese hut of a local farmer, arriving at roughly 9:30pm. So far the boots were comfortable and stayed dry.

We had a hot chocolate made from the fresh milk of the farmers cows at the hut before settling in for a few hours sleep. We slept upstairs in the barn, above the family’s accommodation and the cow shed. However, as there was quite a few of us Michael and I were in the front of the barn in spare accommodation – being the side of the barn where the pigs were directly underneath us! It was a funny experience – very smelly and one pig decided to snore all night like an old man! 

Needless to say we got up at 2:30am to begin our ascent up to the top of the mountain. We had lots of regular stops and breaks, I could see my boots were up to this task of the steep mountain! : ) The darkness faded over the hours and the full moon lifted as we ascended. Finally after a good 3 and a half hours we made it to the peak of Bunderspitz! Relief and some packed breakfast was had as we watched the sun come up. After a few quick pictures we began the descent from the mountain, passing farmers and herds of cows on the slopes until after roughly 4 and a half hours we returned to our finishing point toe chalet. YAY!!! we had done it and completed it!

A few more photographs of the hike below:

My boots are these Euro Trek ones: http://www.hi-tec.com/uk/product-womens-eurotrek-wp-dark-brown.html I didn’t realise quite a lot of the other girls at the chalet and other guides had this type as they found them so comfortable – so obviously a good classic choice! : )

The Hike was a total of roughly 10/11 hours over the period of the time excluding sleeping and stopping times. I had felt a bit ill when I had woken up at 2:30am but decided to carry on as I wanted to complete the challenge. As we got towards the top after hours of hiking and not much sleep in the chalet due to the pig snoring I was getting more agitated, tired and grumpy (thankyou for all who put up with me!) but after coming home, taking a much needed shower, sleep and a cup of tea I am so glad I did it, managed to keep going and had some great ‘mountain top moments’ along the way. It is one of those things I am very glad I did but will not be doing for a little while again yet hehe…maybe a few more smaller mountains next or practice hikes in the meantime : )

Katy, The Good Life In Practice x

Leave a Reply

